Come Nature Is Calling You!!!

East India

East India is a region of India consisting of the states of West Bengal, Bihar, Jharkhand, and Orissa. The states of Orissa and West Bengal share some cultural and linguistic characteristics with Bangladesh and with the state of Assam. Together with Bangladesh, West Bengal formed the ethno-linguistic region of Bengal before Partition in 1947. Historic region of Bengal which was ruled by Nawabs of Bengal comprises present Eastern India and Bangladesh from where British started their conquest of India.

States and territories:- West Bengal, Orissa, Bihar and Jharkhand. 

Most populous cities:-  Kolkata, Durgapur, Bhubaneswar, Patna, Siliguri, Asansol, Cuttack, Ranchi. 

Official languages:- Bengali, Hindi and Oriya.

The region lies in the humid-subtropical zone, and experiences hot summers from March to June, the monsoon from July to October and mild winters from November to February. The interior states have a drier climate and slightly more extreme climate, especially during the winters and summers, but the whole region receives heavy, sustained rainfall during the monsoon months.

Religion and culture:-
The majority of the population of East India is Hindu with Muslim, Christian, Buddhist and Sikh minorities. Durga and Jagannath and Shiva are particularly popular Hindu deities in this region. Among tribals of the region Hinduism and Christianity are the dominant religion. Some tribals also follow their indigenous religions (Sarana).

  Assam Darjeeling Gangtok           Arunachal Pradesh           Guwahati Shillong

Orissa (Jagannathpuri-Bhuvaneshwar)                       Bhutan

Sundarban National Park Tour

This website was created for free with Would you also like to have your own website?
Sign up for free